Day 31 – January 31 Bancroft Arrow Tennis Raquet

I started playing tennis as a youngster.  Not sure how I got into it, I just kind of started playing when I was in elementary school.  I played in junior high and senior high school…even a few tournaments in college.  I still play today outside during the summer months.  I was reviewing the Australian Open results earlier today and they came to mind again when I was driving home, trying to decide what to photograph.  I have a few old raquets and this lovely wooden Bancroft Arrow raquet is hanging (yes, as decor!) in a rec area in my house.  It’s a classic!  Wooden raquet, small head, horrible grip…. it even proclaims to be “America’s Oldest Tennis Manufacturer, Esablished 1882”.   Here’s an image of the top of the neck and it’s “vintage” look…

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 31 – January 31 Bancroft Arrow Tennis Raquet

  1. Sharon says:

    Hey! Do I recognize that racket?!?! 🙂

  2. jessica says:

    Remember “Buc Wall” at the jr high we used to go hit balls at… actually… you would hit the balls and anything that went over, you would make me go fetch them from the baseball field directly behind it. haha. good times.

Leave a Reply

