Day 185 – July 4 Independence Day!

Strawberry Banke Historic Home

Strawberry Banke Historic Home

Today is the 4th of July and for Americans, that’s a very special holiday.  It’s our Independence Day.  It’s a federal holiday commemorating the adoption of the Declaration of Independence on July 4, 1776, when we declared independence from Great Britain.  It’s a day of great celebration and families spend it with picnics and barbeques, time at the beach, baseball games and the like.  The evening always ends with festivities of explosive fireworks lighting the sky.  Well, kind of.  Some towns, for whatever reason, choose to have their fireworks on the day before or day after the 4th.  The town I live in falls into that category and our fireworks are on the 5th (they were rained out yesterday).  Of course, being in New England, it’s rich with history and the festivities here are unlike anywhere else, especially in Boston.  Today I was walking through the downtown area as well as an old area of historic homes and captured several pictures.  I shot several… thought I’d share several.  Take a looksy!  🙂  Happy 4th of July!

Honoring Our Sailors

Americana Kite!

Children Playing At The Fountain

Beautiful Ride

Flying The Flag

Tugs In The Harbor

Red, White and Blue!

 

 

Perfect 4th Of July Menu

 

 

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day 185 – July 4 Independence Day!

  1. Kara says:

    I love this set of pictures. My favorite is the fountain because you captured a little conversation between the toddlers. I feel like you could have a little spread in a local paper or magazine. Great job. I just wish I was out shooting with you today!

    • Thanks Kara! Yes, the little girls were just adorable. I wanted to sneak up there closer, but I didn’t want to disturb them either. Their parents were off to the right. Trying to be discrete and get the shot at the same time can be tough! 🙂 I wish you were out shooting with me too. It was a beautiful day, albeit a bit warm. We definitely would’ve had to stop at the decks for some Jimmy Juice. 😉

  2. Jessica says:

    You got a couple nice doors in those shots… Which is really what the 4th is about. Doors. Happy doorth of july!

  3. Didex says:

    All pictures great…. wow… Lovely post from you Detcher

    • Thanks Didex! I probably would’ve photographed more, but it was getting quite hot outside and I was just getting tired. Fun day in the States! FYI… my first name is Jean-Marie. 🙂

Leave a Reply

