Day 186 – July 5 American Classics

One of my favorite desserts, especially in the summertime, is a root beer float.  It’s an American classic.  I recall going to the old A&W Rootbeer stand when I was a very young child and ordering cheeseburgers and the wonderful root beer floats all while sitting in our car and our waitress skated around on roller skates fetching our order.  That root beer stand is long gone and I’m sure most don’t even remember the root beer stand.  When I was making my lovely dessert this evening it dawned on me that some of you may have never even heard of this delightful treat.  In fact, you may have never even heard of or tasted root beer, which is just a shame.  🙂  I won’t begin to describe root beer, but it’s a classic soda beverage, like Coca Cola.  The “float” is a scoop of vanilla ice cream.  The root beer ices around the ice cream and at the same time, when you’re pouring the root beer over it, creates a nice foamy top.  You eat it with a spoon and a straw (or just tip the glass up and drink from it when the ice cream is gone).  “A&W” is a brand of root beer.  It’s one of my favorites not just because it incorporates ice cream ( I loooooove ice cream!!!) but it’s a fairly light, almost refreshing dessert.  Ahh…. it’s summertime! 🙂

Oh…and yes, I snuck the glass in there.  I’m a proud graduate of Purdue University.  🙂 🙂 🙂

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day 186 – July 5 American Classics

  1. jsh0608 says:

    Congrats on graduating. And OMG now I want a rootbeer float. I am going to have my husband get one of those ASAP. :0)

  2. Hallysann says:

    MMMMmmmm, we used to have a similar dessert made with ice-cream and cream soda 🙂

  3. Didex says:

    Hmmm, I want it… 🙂

Leave a Reply

