Day 189 – July 8 Lift Off!

Admittedly, when I was looking at this picture I found myself thinking about the space shuttle that lifted off today and signified the end of an era of the space program for the USA.  Wow, what a ride.  I can only hope that it picks up soon, right where it left off.  Of course, budget cuts drew the changes.  I won’t get into politics with you, I’ll just say that I simply disagree.  Space exploration is an important part of our future.  The foundation of it is math and science, which we keep saying we need all students more interested in… and then we go cut the program.  Yeah, no comment.  So… on to the lens!  I was snapping a few pictures of this lens tonight for insurance purposes.   Yes, it’s a proud new addition to the family.  🙂  The lovely 28-300 f3.5-5.6 VR lens.  It’s actually the first new lens that I’ve bought that goes specifically with my D700.  Oh me oh my… it’s a beauty!  It’s amazing having such range with the lens!  It just arrived today, so I think it’s safe to say that there will be a plethora (oh yes, I DID just say plethora!) of photographs that I will take tomorrow.  😉  Happy Friday!

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 189 – July 8 Lift Off!

  1. Vicky says:

    JM – Sally Ride was a guest speaker at a couple of events I helped coordinate for Engineering. She is committed tot improving science and math education for all students – “not just future rocket scientists.” We linkede her up with a session with a group of kids from our mentor-high school. She was so excited to talk to them. She made some interesting comments in her talk about how the newer generation just doesn’t think space exploration is that cool anymore. I think they are growing up with so much technology they aren’t awed by the idea of going into space like we were. I think she is making a difference. Check out Sally Ride Science. I liked her alot!

    • Very cool Vicky! I’ll have to check her out! My nephew stil has his autographed picture from Tom H. that I gave him… and he just visited the space center in FL last week and got a patch to match. He was so excited!

Leave a Reply

