Day 199 – July 18 My First Bumble Bee!

Well, not the first that I’ve seen, but the first that I’ve photographed!  🙂  Tonight I’ll admit, at first I was rather disappointed.  I hurried out of work and got home to pack up my surfboard and gear.  When I got to the beach, the web cameras that I was viewing were a bit deceiving.  That, and I’m sure there was a bit of wishful thinking on my own part as well.  There was no surf.  The waves were about 6 inches, maybe 12 inches at one point, but they were breaking so close to shore I’d be trying to surf a one foot wave in about 2 feet of water.  Not a good idea.  Thankfully I brought my camera along with so I took off down the seashore to my favorite surf shop.  On the way I passed this area with an inlet of water and beautiful lily pads.  I had trouble getting close, but I included one photograph that I took from my quick stop (I was parked illegally – it HAD to be quick!).  I stopped into the surf shop and talked to folks for a few minutes, looked around, then decided to go across the street to a beautiful garden area along a small parking area right on the beach.  I thought the flowers were beautiful and started snapping away…. and then the bumble bee arrived!!!  I couldn’t believe it!  So, there you have it, ladies and gentlemen – my first photographed bumble bee!  Yey!  🙂

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Day 199 – July 18 My First Bumble Bee!

  1. dogear6 says:

    Congratulations! The bees are so much fun and not very skittish as you practice. I still don’t have the technique worked out to take them while in flight. I’ve taken quite a few hundred of them and had fun doing it.

    I’d meant to mention trying a slide show (my link at the bottom uses a slide show). I don’t know if that appeals to you or not, but here at the instructions at http://en.support.wordpress.com/slideshows/. In a nutshell – upload your pictures all at one time (do not insert into your post).

    Then look for the bottom near the bottom that says “slideshow”. It will take all the pictures you just added, insert and create a slideshow. While you are creating your post, you don’t actually see the pictures. You’ll see a line that says [slideshow]. When you preview though, they’ll be there.

    Also, I finally got in a link to my blog for your 365 challenge.

    Nancy
    http://dogear6.com/2011/06/26/over-the-flowers-are-the-bees/

  2. mewithmycamera says:

    awsome!

  3. Barb Schutte says:

    so many beautiful pictures Jean-Marie…I look forward to reading and seeing where your adventures of the day take you…always interesting…you are so talented/gifted and thank you for sharing it all with us.

  4. Frank Velez says:

    Very nice shots! I love macro photography. Keep up the good work.

  5. Didex says:

    Like This….. 🙂

Leave a Reply

