Day 211 – July 30 Portland Head Light

This morning I woke up early and decided to venture out a bit and explore Portland, Maine.  It’s just an hour’s drive from where I live.  I took a few hundred photographs and will post a widdled-down set on Flickr (I’m “jmimages”) tonight or tomorrow morning.  For this post, I thought I’d share a picture of the lighthouse that I stopped at on my way to the old port area.  This is actually in Cape Elizabeth.  The lighthouse is called “Portland Head Light” and was first light on January 10, 1791.  It was built at the very location where soldiers used to keep lookout for British attacks in 1776.  There are rumors that it’s one of the most photographed lighthouses in the world.  Well… here’s another to add to the bunch.  🙂

Oh…and if you like sailing, definitely check out my flickr page in a bit.  I went sailing on a 100 year old schooner!

 

 

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Day 211 – July 30 Portland Head Light

  1. dogear6 says:

    I love those blue colors!

    Nancy
    http://www.dogear6.com

    • My favorite color, no doubt, but I was disappointed that there was SO much light. I arrived around 8am and with our current summer heat and clear skies, it was difficult to work with. Hopefully I’ll capture it another time with maybe late day light.

  2. dogear6 says:

    I love lighthouses. I have several from the Great Lakes (I’m from the Midwest) – they really do capture the imagination don’t they.

  3. chrissie says:

    it’s gorgeous!

  4. didex says:

    Wonderful picture… Lovely…

  5. Hallysann says:

    Lovely relaxing picture.
    We’ve got a Portland lighthouse here too, I’ll post it in a day or two.
    Thanks for the inspiration 🙂

Leave a Reply

