Day 223 – August 11 Swallowtail Caterpillar

I happened to be taking care of a few things outside tonight after work and noticed that I had a visitor drop by my parsley plant.   This little guy is a swallowtail caterpillar.  He’s quite cute!  Hopefully he’ll stick around a bit before turning into a butterfly so I can capture a few more photographs when I have more time.  The color is fun and these little creatures always fascinate me.  Good thing I’m not the type to be afraid of bugs!  🙂

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Day 223 – August 11 Swallowtail Caterpillar

  1. dmbphotography says:

    Great photograph!!!

    • Thank you! It was a bit of a challenge outside with the low light… I cranked it up to ISO1600 and was able to shoot handheld. I had my 105mm macro on. These little guys are so cute!

      • dmbphotography says:

        I can relate! I’m doing a project in low light right now (all handheld) and its tough sometimes. It looks wonderful though. And of course I agree – they are cute! 🙂

      • Thankfully with my D700 I can crank the ISO up and be alright, but I try to go as low as possible!

  2. didex says:

    Great Macro…!!! huwaaa…. lovely image

  3. Jeremy says:

    I really like the color in this composition! It might seem like there would be too much green, but the subtle color variations really make the scene pop!

  4. Gloria says:

    The greens are lovely in this photo! Looked the Swallowtail up on Wiki and it said that this species lays its eggs on plants from the carrot !?!?!? family. Evidently parsley is in that family. Which means you are sharing your parsley with a cute little bug. Hope you get to see it evolve.

  5. dogear6 says:

    Great pic – love the focus on it. Be sure to not fertilize your parsley as it kills the caterpillars. I’ve raised a lot of butterflies in my containers on the deck.

Leave a Reply

