Day 230 – August 18 Best Parents. Ever.

Now, we could all argue why our parents are the best.  I’d say I have a pretty good argument right now.  For my birthday, one of the gifts that I received from them was this MOST awesome little man wearing his Detroit Redwings (National Hockey League team, for those not familiar) uniform with all the gear and even an octopus on his head.  Why an octopus?  Legend has that it dates back to the early 1950’s when there were only 6 teams (the “original 6”) in the NHL and you only needed a total of 8 wins (2 best of 7 series) to clinch the Stanley Cup trophy.  A pair of brothers threw out the octopus on the ice during a game, signifying the 8 wins, and the Wings won the cup that year.  They’ve been thrown on the ice ever since.  Yes, definitely one of the best gifts for a diehard Redwings fan!  Thanks Mom and Dad and thanks to my sister for delivering it on their behalf!  🙂  GO WINGS!

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Day 230 – August 18 Best Parents. Ever.

  1. Steve Wierengo says:

    I’m Jealous!! that is sweet!

  2. dmbphotography says:

    I love it! My mom got me a red wings gnome and red wings flower pot this year… I saw this gnome (with the octopus) at a local store and wanted to get it so bad!

    I’m glad you’re a wings fan… Now you just made me miss hockey season even more!

    • First home game is October 7!! I can’t wait! I must say, I’m quite jealous of the flower pot – great idea! I have an Yzerman sweater, a wide assortment of sticks, pucks, flags and even blankets. Is my little man a gnome? I had no idea… awesome!!!

  3. Frank Velez says:

    SANTA!!!!!

  4. Didex says:

    Interesting still life

Leave a Reply

