Day 241 – August 29 Missing Gene

I swear, I really must have that missing “I like gardening” gene.  It’s something I really don’t enjoy.  Not one bit.  Not really planting flowers, or tending to shrubbery or taking care of my lawn.  The only part I might tolerate is vegetables, because I can eat what they produce.  Otherwise, I just don’t like it.  Tonight I had to do one of my least favorite things of all, rake the yard and pick up leaves, sticks and branches from the tropical storm that passed through.  Yes, I’m grateful that it’s the only thing I had to deal with from that storm.  No, I didn’t enjoy it.  Here’s my rake and oh-so-stylish garden gloves that I was working with tonight.

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day 241 – August 29 Missing Gene

  1. Hallysann says:

    I don’t like gardening either but (and this is going to sound a bit silly) I enjoy weeding !
    I like to have some colour to look at, so I’ve set up the garden so that it pretty much looks after itself but the front border has to be weeded. At first it was a chore and I just pulled at the weeds as they grew big enough to distract from the flowers, then after a while I found if I did a really good job on a small section at a time it was really satisfying to make a completely weed free patch and then move onto a new patch. Weeding thoroughly in rotation actually took less time than just pulling up the big ones. 🙂

  2. Gloria says:

    AMEN, SISTAH!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Not only do I have the “Blackest gardening thumb”, but if there is a bee or other gigantic flying menace in a hundred miles it will find me. The reason our small flower patch and hedge have looked as though no one lives here is mainly because the first time I went out to trim my ornamental tree I got stung by a bee and spent the next three hours at the emergency room!

    I begged Clark for a Condo or Townhouse! Oh, well…..

    By the way, for someone who hates gardening, your yard looks amazing!

  3. Matt says:

    Hello?!?! Leaf blower!!! it’s not 1986 anymore… or maybe your phone has an app for that! lol

Leave a Reply

