Day 247 – September 4 Devil’s Pool

The first full day in Zambia was jam-packed with fun.  We started with a boat ride to Livingstone Island, then made our way to the Zambian side of Victoria Falls.  I have many, many photographs of the falls, but I thought I’d share a photograph of a portion of the falls and “Devil’s Pool” or as some refer to it “Devil’s Armchair”.  Oh my… yes, we went out there.   I was so, SO glad I had purchased that little waterproof camera before I left.   As you can see where I am to take this photo, I was pretty close to the edge (sorry Mom!  🙂 ) but I assure you I was safe.  If you look you’ll see a man bending over, helping someone to the small pool and people standing just above him.  In order to get to that point, you have to stagger over rocks, chain linked with other people, and then swim upstream against current (to actually really only go straight across) a few times.  Yep, we went out there.  Only one of my friends actually jumped down where that guy is thought.   I’ll be honest, when we visited the falls from the Zimbabwe side two days later and saw folks doing this, I’m not sure I could’ve done it!  Good thing I really didn’t know what I was getting into.  🙂

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

