Day 293 – October 20 Reminders

Those that have been following my little journey with this blog for the year may remember that I lost my beloved yellow lab, Kacy, to cancer back on July 25.  It was horrible and I miss her every day.  She was my first dog.  I still have my black lab, Tucker, and we keep each other company.  When I knew it was near the end for Kacy I wanted to capture her paw prints as a keepsake.  A neighbor had suggested doing it in pottery, but quite honestly, I don’t think I’d have been able to hold myself together to take her to the shop to do that.  Instead I chose to use water-color paint on brown butcher paper and do it at home.  I have a multi-picture frame with both the paw prints and pictures (both Kacy and Tucker).  I finally ordered pictures and they arrived just yesterday and today I put them in the frame.  As I was assembling it and looking at the prints, a flood of emotion came back to me.  Damn, I hate cancer.  This photograph is of a few paw prints from Kacy when I was trying to figure out just how to get the prints.  Tucker and I both miss her.

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 293 – October 20 Reminders

  1. Pam says:

    That’s a great keepsake! You’ll treasure that.

  2. dogear6 says:

    It takes a long time to get over the death of a pet. Creating something like this helps. With each of my cats, I wrote a letter from them to me. It really helped. I know it sound stupid, but it helped quite a lot and gave me time to remember good memories.

Leave a Reply

