Day 303 – October 30 Early Nor’easter Surf

The past 24 hours or so have been rather frustrating as far as the weather.  In the New England area (and other parts of the greater northeastern US) we had a lovely unseasonal nor’easter pass through.  Yes, it snowed.  In October.  Again.  Oh my… maybe this means we’ll get the messy stuff early and have an easy winter.  One can only hope.  I was without power for about 20 hours, through the night and into today.  Many folks were out taking pictures of the snow, but I knew where to go – the beach.  Nor’easters tend to bring really great storm surf and I had a feeling I’d see some exciting surf.  No doubt, I did.  Here’s a few photographs of the surf, spray and some surfers.

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Day 303 – October 30 Early Nor’easter Surf

  1. Steve Wierengo says:

    1, 2, 4, 5 and 6 are my favorites, 2 is surreal looking, very nice!!

  2. dmbphotography says:

    These are wonderful photos! I

    • Thank you! Obviously I just love the ocean. I felt the same way growing up on Lake Michigan. It’s a connection that’s hard to explain. The power in the waves from the storms was just amazing to watch on Sunday. I could’ve sat there for hours!

  3. dogear6 says:

    I loved all the photos, but the first one was incredible. I loved the way you tweaked it up – really superb. And whatever ISO you used really captured the water action.

    I’ve been doing some of the Topaz webinars and am finally getting the hang of this more. After seeing what you did, I really need to practice using the plug-ins. You started with a great picture and made it even better.

    My picture at the link below is one of the few I’ve posted where I did that, although the beginning point was nowhere near as spectacular as yours.

    http://dogear6.com/2011/10/30/anniversary-celebration-of-days/

    Of course, if you were as good as the CSI lab geeks, you could have taken that squirrel picture, and sharpened it up enough to see the actual squirrel butt! My husband gets so irate every time they show taking a totally blurry picture and making it sharp enough to read a license plate number.

    Okay, so this got a bit long. Good job though – thanks for posting.

    Nancy

    • Hi Nancy, thank you! I believe that I was shooting at ISO200, maybe 400 because it was a pretty bright day. I do know that in sports and high action things you want to try to have a shutterspeed of at least 1/1000 to be able to get small detail like the print on a football player’s glove during a play, for example. I don’t use any plugins, just a little tweeking in Lightroom, which I can do pretty easily shooting raw files. Love that stuff! I’ll check out your link, thanks for sharing! 🙂

      • dogear6 says:

        Thanks for the answer. My technical skills are developing slowly, so I appreciate you explaining the workflow. It makes sense to me – I’ve had some photos come out very detailed straight from the camera. Just not consistently enough!

  4. Marlene Snyder says:

    These pictures are absolutely incredible!!

  5. Hallysann says:

    Really beautiful. 😀

Leave a Reply

