Day 326 – November 22 African Pattern

One of the things I enjoyed when I was visiting Zambia two months ago were the bright colors of the fabrics.  These fabrics were used for everything from clothing to table cloths to bedding and nearly everything else you could imagine.  Many women (both in town and in the villages) simply took beautiful pieces of fabric and wrapped them around their waist.  I loved the fact that they weren’t afraid to express themselves through their clothing and that bright colors were worn regularly.  Sometimes I almost felt like you could tell how they were feeling or what kind of day they were having by what they were wearing.  Today’s photograph is from a simple bag that I had purchased with a bright and colorful pattern while I was there.  Every time I use it I’m grateful for the memories it brings back of the beautiful colors of Zambia.  🙂

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Day 326 – November 22 African Pattern

  1. What a beautiful pattern. 🙂

  2. Thank you for your thoughts of the Zambian use of color and fabric, especially about the women! It’s what makes your blogs so special. I see things (generally) in two dimensions–you see in three for your photos and past that in your understanding of what you are experiencing. Thank you for that too. I’d always lived in the Southwest where bright colors are a way of life. So when we came to New England all my bright colors had to be muted.

    • You’re so welcome Gloria! Thank you for your kind words. I know what you mean about the colors of the southwest. I love bright colors (as you can probably tell by how I develop my photos) and I know what you mean about the New England area. Hey, I say bring out the bright colors anyway – maybe that’s just what folks up here need! 🙂

  3. That’s a very pretty pattern. I’m currently attracted to bright colours and pictures myself, though I don’t always end up with the result that I want. 🙂 It’s pretty cool that you are doing a 365 day project. I am currently doing a 21 day photo project and I think that, plus writing a blog, is a bit of a time commitment. Thumbs up for the 365 days. Maybe I should make it my 2012 year resolution . Might be fun.

    • Thank you! And thanks for checking out my little project. It has certainly been a challenge throughout the year, but that’s exactly what I was lookinn for, a challenge. This project has forced me to look at things a little differently sometimes and has certainly driven a new level of self-discipline. I told myself from the beginning that I was going to stick with it… and now I have just 34 days left! 🙂 Best of luck!!!

  4. Hallysann says:

    It’s great when something you’ve brought back with you brings the memories with it isn’t it. We have a cuboard overflowing with mugs because we try and bring them back from wherever we visit. 🙂

Leave a Reply

