Day 328 – November 24 Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade

Our Thanksgiving holiday in the United States is much like comparable celebrations in other countries.  We gather with friends and family, give thanks for all our blessings and then enjoy a feast together.  Some like to have the TV tuned to Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade from New York City and watch for the arrival of Santa as we enter the holiday season. Others try to skip right to the professional football games that are on.   Oh, and let’s not forget the Westminster Dog Show!  🙂  So many options! This year, I visited my sister and nephew in New York and I was able to attend the 85th annual parade in person!  There was the big turkey in the beginning, the huge balloons, the bands playing, the celebrities (oh yes, that’s Neil Diamond!), and in the end the big guy himself, Santa Clause!  It was chilly and packed and I basically stood in the same spot for about 4 hours with two other friends, but it was worth it to experience it just once.  What a great time! I followed the parade with a fabulous holiday feast that my sister prepared and enjoyed the rest of the day with them.  I hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 328 – November 24 Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade

  1. dogear6 says:

    I didn’t have a chance to see it on TV, so I was happy to see all the pictures. It sounds like you had a wonderful time visiting – loved the craft one also.

    • Thank you Nancy! I had a great time visiting, even though it was quick. I am in the midst of chaos with personal and business travel and the holidays right now… stay tuned for more adventures! 😉

  2. Frank Velez says:

    I love Tom Turkey!

Leave a Reply

